Preparing for your Florida Learner’s Permit for driving the first time might sound nerve-wracking, but it doesn’t need to be. Thousands of people every year apply without issue, get their permit, and quickly get behind the wheel of car to start practicing their driving in Florida. It’s definitely not like trying to launch a rocket to the moon, and once your nerves relax, you’ll realize how easy the process is with a bit of preparation.
First, there no special location for a learner’s permit. You can take the test at any Florida DMV office even without an appointment (however, when it’s busy an appointment might make things a lot easier instead of waiting for your turn for a few hours). That said, it’s also possible to handle the learner’s permit requirements electronically as well if you have a computer and a good Internet connection. All you need is a working computer, Internet access, someone who is already licensed to be proctor for your test (this is to make sure you don’t cheat, and the person certifies legally you did everything correctly). The proctor is required if taking the test digitally, so you can’t avoid that part. When done, that person being the proctor will sign a statement you submit certifying you did everything correctly.
There are some minimum age requirements that you need to meet for your test to be valid. The online test is only available for those who are at least 15 years old and not 18 years old yet. You will also need verifiable identification information such as your name, birthdate and government ID like your social security number or similar. In addition to the age limit, you will also need to have passed the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) class. This is required of all drivers to make sure you’ve been education on the risks of driving under the influence.
When your learner’s permit test is passed with at least a score of 80 percent (i.e. 40 correct answers out of 50), and your TLSAE course is verified as complete, you’ve passed the permit testing requirements. Your learner’s permit will be issued, and you can begin practicing driving to prepare for your driver’s license exam and road test.
Keep in mind, the learner’s permit is exactly that. You’re a driver-in-training with the permit. That means someone at least 21 years or older who is licensed already needs to be with you as a front passenger. You also are limited to driving during the regular daytime hours and not at night.
If, for some odd reason, you don’t pass your Florida learners permit test, then try again. You can re-take the test, but the second time make sure to really focus on the test information from your driver’s license manual. There are lots of resources that can help you study better as well. You don’t need to get depressed or feel like you’re struggling alone. Take a deep breath. Examine the test you took to realize what you did wrong, and then find the resources available to do better the next time.
The permit test is entirely based on the same information. You can still take the online test again. It’s available up to three times per person. After that, you have to take the permit test at the DMV office in person. In some very rare circumstances one could pass online but still get flagged to take the exam again at a DMV office. It might not seem fair, but this is a random check FL DMV does to spot check for potential online test fraud. Regardless of passing online, you have to pass again in person to be a valid permit driver. But remember, don’t give up!